Le Cordon Bleu Logo

The Académie Culinaire de France at Le Cordon Bleu institute: inauguration of Chef Eric Briffard & gold medal awarded to Mr. André Cointreau

27 February 2017, Paris - Le Cordon Bleu, the leading Global Network of Culinary Arts and Hospitality Management Institutes, was honoured to welcome the Académie Culinaire de France on Sunday 26 February 2017, for the induction ceremony of Auditor and Associate members, and for the presentation of the 2017 Trophée Passion competitors and juries.

Chef Fabrice Prochasson, (MOF 1996), President of the Académie Culinaire de France stated that ‘’all members whoever they are must be solidary and that the Academy is one and the same team permitting the development of the association nationally and internationally. With this in mind, the Academy wishes to open branches this year, notably in China and Russia and continue the organization of gala, hunting  and charity dinners’’.

In his welcoming speech, André Cointreau, Le Cordon Bleu President declared that

the Culinary Academy of France and Le Cordon Bleu joined forces in their mission of transmitting and sharing know-how both in France and abroad. The French Chefs community must work together to defend the cultural and culinary heritage of France throughout the world. It is through the success of our students that these values are promoted.

A number of members of the Institute were honoured during the event:

During the event, Chef Fabrice Prochasson was accompanied by a multitude of professionals and personalities from the culinary world, including Chef Guillaume Gomez (MOF 2004 - President of the Association des Cuisiniers de la République), Chef Nicolas Sale from the restaurant of the Hotel Ritz, Chef Bernard Vaussion, former Chef of the Elysée Palace, Chef Joël Bellouet (MOF) and many others. Members of the Académie Culinaire include former Le Cordon Bleu Chef Instructors like Chef Marc Thivet, but also current members of the teaching team such as Chefs Jean-Jacques Tranchant, Jean-Francois Deguignet, Christian Moine and Marc Vaca.

One of the day’s events was also a conference on “La Georgette” by its creator, Mr. Jean-Louis Orengo.

The six countries representing the competing teams of the Trophée Passion Culinary competition were: Chili, France, Guatemala, Mexico, Morocco and Switzerland.  The Guatemalan team’s coach, Milly Bruderer, is a Le Cordon Bleu Paris graduate. This competition for young chefs was founded by the Académie Culinaire de France, honorary president, Mr. Gérard Dupont.  The award ceremony will take place on Monday February 27th, 2017 at the Quai d’Orsay – French ministry of foreign affairs.

Photo credits:  Laure Stephane

News & Events